"A Queen In Hiding" (The Nine Realms #1) by Sarah Kozloff

27.10.2019

TOR BOOKS:

7, 20 EUROS (Kindle Format)

PLOT:

Queen Cressa finds herself suddenly sorrounded by enemies and her reign close to an end.

The only way to save it: protect the princella, hiding her from anyone that might recognize her, hoping she would be the hope and the saviour they are looking for.

<<Have you noticed anything different or unusual about the princella since our last conference?>>

REVIEW (2,5/5):

Am I starting to become extremely more rigid with my judgement of books?

Probably...

I have noticed lately that I tend to be pretty bitter in my reviews, and guess what?

THIS IS A BITTER REVIEW!

This time I swear that I entered this book with no expectation, and for the first time the book was pretty nice I am not going to lie: I felt like it was interesting that it was following Cressa, a character that is very much different from our usual main characters, mostly because she is older, she is a mother and she has so many responsibilities... which made her a very interesting character.

The entire first part is, according to me, very well-written and plotted, mostly because it is well-centered in only a place, and although it is a bit dispersive on the characters side, it wasn't too bad, and I found myself entertained through the book.

Then... happened the rest of the book: it started getting EXTREMELY dispersive to the point that I was like... "wait... who is this" (and I discovered just by the end of the book that they had a glossary/dramatis personae, which I am not going to lie... is giving this book special points), and although I found it interesting to see more outside the starting point... I quickly ended up losing interest in any other character, other than Cressa... my babe.

Alongside this, there was the fact that (if you follow me on my Instagram, @eroine.penzel, you already know it) this book is a bad copy of "Games of Thrones", and I do have to say (I know that each and everyone of you will hate me) that GOT is not my thing, so to see it being written like that...

... and it was actually written worse than GOT, because it felt like almost reading an "history book" (and I have read many of those), since it constantly changed without giving you time to take in new particulars, and alongside this... NOTHING HAPPENS.

And even if things do happen, they are written in a calm tone, which I would usually appreciate... HAD THIS NOT BEEN THE ENTIRE BOOK!

I just felt like this was such a long prologue to the start of the real book, in fact the last chapters were actually nice and finally we saw some MOVEMENT!

I do have to say that I am giving it three stars just because the first part was very interesting and promising but for me, the entire middle part between the first and the last part should have been a bit cut through, because it was just the constant writing of obvious facts and facts that would have sounded more interesting if inserted as flashbacks, or had been given a bit of movement.

Are you very judgy like me with books?

PLEASE DON'T LET ME FEEL ALONE!


See you soon!

Eroine Penzel.

© 2017 Antonio Giannelli. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Creato con Webnode
Crea il tuo sito web gratis! Questo sito è stato creato con Webnode. Crea il tuo sito gratuito oggi stesso! Inizia