"The Storm Crow" by Kalyn Josephson

10.07.2019

SOURCEBOOKS FIRE

22,58 EUROS (Hardback).

PLOT:

When everything seems lost, Anthia finds a little "egg" of hope, but will she survive the cruel throes of Illucia.

A princess might have a chance to save and regain her place and power, but an engagement might stand into it being possible, mostly if she murders her fiancè before the wedding!

<<Tell me about the crows>>

REVIEW (4/5):

Hello lovelies!

I think that I deserve an award because I finished that book right the day it was coming out!

To explain how this is possible (without time machines): I found the ARC of this book in the December Fairyloot, and then forgot about this book (mostly because it was hidden in my fairyloot box...) and I really regret not having read it before, because... THIS BOOK IS HONESTLY AMAZING!

Let's start with the fact that this book has a very interesting and unique worldbuilding with an even more interesting system of magic, although as always... we start with the flaws...

I honestly have to admit that the worldbuilding was very very well-built and understandable mostly because there is a little glossary at the end of the book, which I always appreciate, because as soon as you end up reading the book you have a quick knowledge of anything that might have sparked any questions in your mind.

(Please author: if you are going to write a very complex world, insert a glossary, it might literally... save lives!).

But something which I didn't get too much was: The Crows!

I totally get the different power and everything but something which left me very confused were the dimensions of said crows, like... how big are they? I need fanarts and explanations, immediately, alongside more visual explanations.

Also another thing which honestly didn't bother me, but I wanted to bring up was the treatment of depression: I personally am not an expert and haven't suffered from it, so I have to say that maybe I can't understand it at its fullest, and whereas I found the topic interesting inserted in the book, I felt like it was a bit superficial.

The main character herself states that she is depressed, but I honestly have to say that I never felt like she reached the darkest abyss of true pain and depression, and I would have avoided inserting that in the plot, mostly because I feel like it might have implied much more than what explained in the book.

At the same time, I felt the evolution of the character fascinating, mostly because it wasn't a show of power, but much more a show of knowledge or trying each new things, alongside showing a much more controlled side, which I always appreciate preferring them over hot-headed ones.

I do have to say that I still loved the banter between Ericen and her, mostly because I honestly loved Ericen with all my heart (not totally because I was imagining him as Ivar from "Vikings", because blue eyes, terrible temper and mommy issues...), but also I always love characters who can actually create a perfect banter between them, I feel like it's interesting to read and if written well it makes great writing material.

The characters are very interesting, because although they cover stereotypes we all know and appreciate, but each with a twist of its own.

I also loved the worldbuilding, if we avoid talking about the crows: I found it interesting and totally unique, the concept of magic is very interesting and I find it difficult to find something that talks this way about animals, mostly not shining the focus on the human, but linking the human and the animal together,

I feel like all together this is probably one of the best releases of this year, with an interesting character, a story of growth and a magical and original world building.

So what... are you waiting to get your hands on this?


Your favorite release of this year?

See you soon!

Eroine Penzel.

© 2017 Antonio Giannelli. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Creato con Webnode
Crea il tuo sito web gratis! Questo sito è stato creato con Webnode. Crea il tuo sito gratuito oggi stesso! Inizia