"Demons of Time: Race To The Seventh Sunset" by Varun Sayal

15.04.2019

AMAZON MEDIA

0,99 EUROS ( Kindle Format)

PLOT:

A threat in the future, but an hero in the past.

That's how this book start, flashing through past and future, through magical abilities belonging to people who are called "time reader" and "time demons", the latters being characterized by an inner cruelness, which makes them want to destroy anything that comes their way.

Also our future, but it is only another time demon who can save the world.

The problem? He is stuck in the past...

<<You will have time to learn this>>

I have known this author through his first book ("Time Crawlers") which I honestly loved it , because I felt like the author though this format could express his best, but I felt like him moving to the novel side, wasn't a great choice, mostly because clearly the shortness of this book (although it is clearly not over with this book) was one of the flaws of this book, alongside the fact that many plot-twist and plot ideas weren't well articulated.

I honestly believe this book would have had a good structure if it didn't rely so badly on the most chilchest cliché ever: "we are going back in time to save the world" (this time is more like "back in the future" but I felt like it was not so different, and this created a big stereotype not to talk about the fact that it made it hard for me to empathize with the character).

I honestly believe that because of the shortness of this book we couldn't really see the full expression of the characters and although I am sure that we are meant to see more in the next books, I felt like we started on a bad foot.

Also I honestly have to say that I didn't appreciate the tiny way homosexuality was dealt with, totally understandable with the Indian climate (although there have been some pretty amazing news and progress for which I am very proud of, towards the LGBT community) I didn't very much appreciate the way it was handled.

All this elements didn't help me with actually liking the book, at all, which is very sad because I love the way Varun usually handles his writing alongside the way he creates new world and links Indian mythology in his books, but I do think that this book needs a bit of re-read and re-write just for the sake of trying to bring more to the character and the plot, which are good, but don't soar over the ordinary.

Have you read this book?

What did you think about it?


See you soon!

Eroine Penzel.

© 2017 Antonio Giannelli. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Creato con Webnode
Crea il tuo sito web gratis! Questo sito è stato creato con Webnode. Crea il tuo sito gratuito oggi stesso! Inizia