#PRIDEBOOKTAG

26.06.2019

Hello, lovelies!

If you hadn't noticed it, June is pride month, a month to celebrate the LGBTQ+ community (thing that should be done also every other 12 months!).

"Leggo Scatto Viaggio" has created a pride themes book-tag and I have finally been able to write it down and post it here, so before you continue with my book-tag, be sure to check out his video, whcih you shall find under here!

Much love and support and don't forget to always be proud of who you are!

  • FIRST LGBT+ THEMED BOOK YOU'VE READ:

The first true LGBTQ+ book I have ever come across to was "Oh Boy" by Marie-Aude Murail, where not only we have a main character who is a proud gay man, but also he is tasked with supporting and taking care of his younger siblings and in the fight for its custody he is actually discriminated because of his sexuality.

I read this book when I was too little to understand the entire problem of "a gay man being denied the care of his siblings" but right now, living in a place where the "rainbow families" (as the Italian government calls them) risk constantly of not being recognized), I can't help but be grateful for this first introduction to the LGBTQ+ themes, and which I would gladly suggest, if you are looking to know more about this theme.

  • A LGBT+ BOOK TO FIRST APPROACH THESE THEMES:

I shall have to go with "The Art Of Being Normal" by Lisa Williamson, which was my first true approach to the question of gender and transsexuality, which I found treated in a very interesting way, since we talk about children or at least pre-adolescents; this is a very new take, since it is hard to see these themes which are usually considered too strong for children, treated this way.

I found this choice, honestly, brilliant, opening a lot of eyes about the fact that we are never too young to know our true self!

  • LAST LGBT+ READING:

"The Stone Rainbow" by Liane Shaw, which I loved with all my heart, since it had a very innovative views, although its narration was a bit confusing and a bit too fairytale-like for me, showing us that, not only everything will get better, but also that with a first fist another thousands raise in order to link together in a rope of salvation and a shot of hope.

Also, I think that it had an amazing and interesting representation of the category of "allies" in the LGBTQ+ community, which I seriously appreciated, as an ally itself, so highly suggested for when it will come out on the 17th of September.

  • FAVORITE LGBT+ THEMED BOOKS:

I honestly have to go with one of my most recent readings which was "These Witches Don't Burn", which I am not going to lie, isn't perfect but it straight up made me smile, since it treated an LGBT+ relationship as a straight one (which is the way to go, since relationships of this kind are not different) alongside linking everything which witchcraft and magic, which is something I love with all my heart.

So, another beautiful suggestion, if you want a easy breezy summer read with amazing writing and rep!

  • FAVORITE LGBT+ CHARACTER:

Nina Zenik, not only because she is an amazing bisexual rep (the true proof that just because a bisexual woman is staying with a man doesn't mean she is suddenly straight, or that she has gone back to being heterosexual or anything else... BISEXUAL PEOPLE ARE VALID AND AMAZING, DON'T RAIN ON THEIR PARADE), but also for all she stands, being an amazing friend, a talented grisha and a badass lady.

We love you Nina!

  • A BOOK WITH LGBT+ THEMES THAT YOU CAN'T WAIT TO READ:

"Il Diario Vittoriano" by Laura Costantini, which I have received yesterday and I can't help to read it, both for the fact that it has been suggested by so many of my friends, and the fact that we are talking about a book set in the Victorian Age, because it is something I am here for!

  • FAVORITE LGBT+ COUPLE:

I can't literally choose so I will list all the one I love with all my heart:

  • Andreil, from "The Foxhole Court" by Nora Sakavic, because this is what happens when two assholes met each other and it's absolutely the most thing ever, showing us that love and patience can win the hardest of fights.
  • Lamen, from "Captive Prince", because they are amazing, deserve the world and I simply just love them.
  • Patrochilles from "The Song Of Achilles" who literally are just the best thing ever and I just want to hug them and stop crying over my "Iliad".
  • Wren and Lei from "Girls Of Paper and Fire" which are literally too cute for their own good.
  • Hannah and another girl from "These Witches Don't Burn" (I won't say her name because it might be spoiler).

A BOOK THAT DOESN'T EXPLAIN WELL LGBTQ+ THEMES:

"Scorpio Rules" by Erin Bow.

I honestly, first of all, was not expecting the LGBT+ couple, and when it appeared I felt like it was just thrown in the way as if to be like "here's something new and a plot-twist" but to me it felt extremely not genuine and the fact that the main character was kept in a love triangle between a girl and a man, as if to have her a safety landing in case the FF relationship didn't work, honestly didn't convince me.

(I am not dissing bisexuality, but I felt like in this case it was left too much confused to give them a true identity).

  • NEXT LGBT+ BOOK YOU'LL READ:

I think it will either be "Vengeful" by Victoria Schwab or "Il Diario Vittoriano" by Laura Costantini or "Radio Silence" by Alice Oseman, since they are all about themes I am extremely curious about.

  • TAG 3 FRIENDS:

And I will just leave a free tag!

If you want to do it, please do it might mean the most to somebody!


See you soon, lovelies!

Eroine Penzel.

© 2017 Antonio Giannelli. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Creato con Webnode
Crea il tuo sito web gratis! Questo sito è stato creato con Webnode. Crea il tuo sito gratuito oggi stesso! Inizia